What is a Crab-Eating Raccoon?

There are three primary species of raccoon found all across the world. There is the Northern raccoon, also called the Common raccoon, the Cozumel Island raccoon, and the Crab-Eating raccoon. There are also a few subspecies of these raccoons, such as the Tres Marias raccoon, the Guadeloupe raccoon, and the Barbados raccoon. Each of these species are fascinating and fun to learn about, but in this blog, we will focus mainly on the Crab-Eating raccoon; and then, learn about the other raccoon species in later blogs!

Continue reading to learn some interesting information about the Crab-Eating raccoon, and who to call for help dealing with nuisance raccoons on your property.

Indianapolis IN Raccoon Removal and Control 317-535-4605
Crab-Eating Raccoon (Procyon cancrivorus)

Facts About the Crab-Eating Raccoon (Procyon Cancrivorus)

The Crab-Eating raccoon is scientifically known as Procyon Cancrivorus, but also called the South American raccoon. Crab-Eating raccoons live in subtropical and tropical regions, populating much of Central and South America. They live near bodies of water or marshy wetlands, taking shelter in abandoned animal dens, hollowed trees, underbrush piles, and large rock crevices.

Although named the “crab-eating” raccoon, they are not committed to eating just that. They have omnivorous diets that also consist of crustaceans, lobster, small amphibians, turtle eggs, and even fruit. Just like us, they love crabs and other shellfish, and eat them whenever the opportunity arises!

Crab-Eating raccoons look very similar to the Northern raccoon, or Common raccoon. However, at a closer look, you can see how they differ in appearance. Crab-Eating raccoons have the iconic bushy striped tails and bandit-like black mask, much similar to the Indiana raccoon. But, if you look closely at the hair at the nape of their necks, you will see that it grows in a different direction!

Additionally, their claws are narrower and sharper than that of the Northern raccoon. As their name suggests, they are better adapted to eating hard-shelled foods, unlike their Mid-west counterparts. The Crab-Eating raccoon is smaller in body-size, appearing slenderer. They can weigh anywhere from a few pounds to over 25 pounds, depending on age and gender.

Crab-Eating raccoons are also nocturnal, like all other raccoon species. They hunt and search for food in the evening, and sleep during daytime hours. They breed from mid-summer to early fall, and generally reproduce a litter of 2 to 6 pups. They are a rare and interesting species of raccoon that loves their Caribbean lifestyle!

Safe Solutions for Nuisance Raccoons in Indiana

The Northern Raccoon is a common suburban nuisance for many home and property owners in the city. Raccoons should never be harmed or killed, but they can be relocated to a faraway and safe habitat by a professional wildlife removal service. For homeowners that experience nuisance raccoon problems, it is strongly suggested to contact a local Indianapolis Raccoon Removal service for safe and humane assistance.

Do you have a raccoon problem that is only getting worse? Contact Indianapolis Raccoon Removal at 317-535-4605 for licensed and insured raccoon removal and control at an affordable price. We serve residential and commercial clients.

Related Posts:

The Three Extant Species of Raccoon
Types of Raccoon Species Found Around the Globe
Common Raccoon Species in North America